How my Cloud/DevOps Journey is Going

How my Cloud/DevOps Journey is Going

Thank you for reading my blog! This was a post I originally wrote in October 2022. I'll have another update coming soon at the start of the New Year.

Introduction

Hi again! I’m Raven. I love to tinker and play with code. I started coding when I was 9 years old and I got my start with HTML and CSS on websites like NeoPets, MatMice and MySpace.

When I decided to make Software Engineering my career, I just wanted to be a Front End Developer, as evidenced when I started this blog. However, I decided to narrow my scope and have settled upon Cloud and DevOps as the path I’d like to focus on.

How it’s been

I obtained my Associate’s degree in Computer Information Systems in May 2021. Since then I’ve had a help desk job and then I became a DevOps Apprentice.

I am currently learning Go through my apprenticeship and I plan to become a Cloud Developer or DevOps Engineer that specializes in Go and Python.

I mentioned WGU in my last post and I’ve been enrolled in classes since the start of July. Unfortunately, I haven’t made a dent in my coursework due to personal issues pulling me away from focusing on leveling up my skills.

What my plans are

I won’t speak too much about my apprenticeship, but I have until a certain date to deliver a specific project. The project seems completely daunting and out of my range but I am more than willing to learn the skills needed to culminate this app!

As for school, I have until February to obtain my CompTIA A+ & CompTIA Network+ certifications. That’s literally 11 weeks. 🥴

I’m very slowly but surely making my way through that list of books I mentioned in my first blog post, lol!

I think I want my short-term stack to consist of HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Go, Python & SQL. DevOps skills to focus on will consist of Git, Linux, Bash & Shell scripts, Docker, Jenkins & Kubernetes. I think that’s more than enough to keep me busy before moving on to Ansible and Terraform. My school curriculum requires me to obtain certs in AWS & Azure. Learning GCP will have to come in my own time.

I am heavily considering a DevOps Bootcamp. I still need to partake in 90 Days of DevOps and the Cloud Resume Challenge.

I will also be revamping my portfolio website as well as my blog website. I might just rebrand myself entirely. 😂

I know I should utilize this space more to relay what I’ve learned. All these courses and projects I partake in and yet I don’t speak about any of them.